Extending method provider and nullpointerexception

Theorems

I'm new to java & scripting and I'm gonna have to ask stuff here until I get verified on discord :boge:

I have a class with this method:

public class ActionStates extends MethodProvider {

public State getState() {
		if(getInventory().isFull()) { // nullPointerException
			return State.BANK;
		}else if(myPlayer().isAnimating()) {
			return State.IDLE;
		}else {
			return State.FISH;
		}
	}

As you can see, I commented the line that throws the nullPointerException

The thing is, that code works when I put it in my main class which extends from Script... Is there something else I need to be able to do in order to use osbot methods in other classes? It looks like it works in eclipse but then I get that when it runs which doesn't make sense to me because getInventory().isFull() should only be returning true or false (not null) shouldn't it?

6 minutes ago, Chikan said:

That shouldn't be throwing a null pointer, maybe its something in your bank state that isn't null checked?

well that code works in my 'Main' class so I don't think that would be causing any issue. I'm just building the skeleton of my script right now so my action methods just look like this: 

public void bank() {
   log("bank");
}

public void idle() {
   log("idle");
}

public void fish() {
   log("fish");
}

Edited by Theorems

When you're extending MethodProvider, some inherited fields must be initialized. That is the only reason why you're getting null. 

What those fields are, i'm not sure (take a look in Script class and see how it handles it). There are different ways on dealing this situation. @Alek Can tell you the preferred way. I think he mentioned it before in the forums. 

1 minute ago, dreameo said:

When you're extending MethodProvider, some inherited fields must be initialized. That is the only reason why you're getting null.