Working OCR - Thoughts?

Alek

I've always wanted a way to collect data visually and although this approach is impractical for many applications, there are a few advantages in having optical character recognition. Below is a short demonstration video in scanning the screen for the character 'E'.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itYcXz5603w

This is my first time ever trying to make an OCR type of system and I am pretty clueless to what algorithms already exist. Searching a canvas for a single character alone consumes a ton of resources and ensuring that my search is optimized is very important. 

When developing the OCR search, I initially came up with something I called the ink blot. The ink blot would search pixel by pixel and try to create a shape based on the color of pixels which surround it. This shape would then be compared against the character which I was searching for and determined if they had identical points. The problem was clear, after about 500 pixels (I was searching over 250k pixels), creating shapes for each pixel point was too resource intensive.

The second search method which I created is something I'll refer to as the typewriter. The character which I'm looking for is essentially stamped at each position and checked to see if the colors at that stamp match the points of my character. This means the character 'E' was checked quickly over a few thousands times at varying positions on the screen. 

ocr.setBot(getBot());
        if (ocr.getBot() != null) {
            OC character = ocr.findChar('E');
            if (character != null) {
                System.out.println("Found character at: " + character.getX() + "," + character.getY());
            } else {
                System.out.println("The character was not found!");
            }
        } else {
            System.out.println("The OCR bot is null");
        }