Road to Scripter 1

Dark798

Hello all, I've started to learn how to script and decided to document my progress here. I don't actually know if I will get Scripter 1 since I don't know the requirements, how experienced I will need to be, as well as the fact that I'd likely keep the good scripts that I write to farm myself. Regardless, here's my progress!

Day 0:

Spoiler

I had been learning a little bit of C# for a side project. I was using Microsoft Virtual Academy and actually highly recommend it; it's free and explained all the fundamentals very well for an absolute beginner. I stopped learning after a little while, but I came across Apac's thread on scripting for beginners, thought it looked pretty easy, and took the plunge.

Day 1:

Spoiler

I thoroughly read through Apac's guide. I learned about setting up an IDE, setting a build path, and about how to use the skeleton. After a little trial and error, along with some very nice people on the same thread, I wrote a short script that would pick up bones one at a time and bury them.

public int onLoop() throws InterruptedException {
		if(getInventory().contains("Bones")); {
			getInventory().interact("Bury", "Bones");
		}

{GroundItem cowbone = getGroundItems().closest("Bones");
			if (cowbone != null) {
				cowbone.interact("Take");
			}
		}

return random(2000, 3000);
	}

I was so happy! It was so satisfying to see something that I wrote actually work, when scripting seemed so foreign just a couple days ago. However, this script is pretty suboptimal, both in terms of the script itself and in the method itself. So I went to learn some more.

Day 2:

Spoiler

Today I learned more about using the API, learned more about projects/packages/classes, and was just reading some more basic guides. I posted the script above for some advise and received some helpful tips on how to make it an actual decent script. Nothing too exciting today.

Day 3:

Spoiler